The struggles of being a single parent

I never asked to be a single mother at such a young age…

I had imagined being happy with a big family.

A loving husband and 4 kids running around. I actually almost had it.

I had the loving boyfriend who talked of long term. Talked of marrying me.

You could even say I was engaged in a way.

Never did I imagine raising his son. His beautiful and highly intelligent son.

I’m blessed. Despite how our relationship ended, I’m lucky to have bared his child.

I love my son, and I love parenthood.

I was that girl who always said how I didn’t want kids. Never was going to have them.

I’m 19, going on 20, and I have a beautiful and healthy 10 month old.

Sometimes it just works out that way~

Being a single parent is frustrating, hard, and sometimes, a little maddening.

But I love every minute of it. I wouldn’t change my life for the world!

I’m still going to finish college, I’m going to open my business this summer. It’ll be my birthday gift to myself.

Just because I’m a teen mom, does NOT mean I can’t still live out my dreams and goals.

But yes, I will admit that some nights, I wish I was still with my sons father. Because sometimes, I really would love to look over at my husband and just ask him to watch the baby for a few minutes or to take over so I can go and rest. Don’t get me wrong, I have plenty of help at home from my family. But it’s not the same, nor will it ever be the same.

But, who’s complaining? I’m not 🙂

Just proves how strong I am~

How strong my love is.

I do look forward to having more kids in the future. Preferably when I’m around 24 or 25. Rather it is with a sperm bank or with my husband.

I look forward to my future.

xo~

Leave a Reply

